Confident Introverts?

“Balloons” by “Crystl” Licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Generic (CC-BY2.5). Accessed 5 June 2014. http://www.flickr.com/photos/crystalflickr/190713106/

“Balloons” by “Crystl” Licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Generic (CC-BY2.5). Accessed 5 June 2014. http://www.flickr.com/photos/crystalflickr/190713106/

A couple days ago, I was arguing with my father about a topic very close to heart. He insisted that introversion was the same as shyness.

My problem with linking those words together is that it gives a negative connotation to those of us who are fine with solitude most of the time. It hints that quiet people aren’t capable of achieving positions of power, or having a decent conversation with someone.
I consider myself an introvert, but not a shy person. Although I used to be.

When we lived in Central America, I couldn’t talk to people and was insecure of my appearance. But when my parents and I moved to the States, I had to be their interpreter since they didn’t know the language. And it was an absolute nightmare. Every time the phone rang, I cringed because I knew I had to answer it. My heart beat like crazy as I fumbled for a hello.

Things got worse when we bought a cleaning franchise since I had to talk to the customers. I can safely say that my shyness wasn’t carefully peeled off, it was ripped apart.

After a year doing the same thing and going to acting classes, I’m no longer insecure or shy. I actually like conversing with people quite a lot, but I’m still an introvert.

So is introversion and shyness the same thing? No.
Can an introvert be confident? Yes.
Can an introvert provide something admirable to society? Let these people be the answer:
1. Eleanor Roosevelt
2. Mahatma Gandhi
3. Bill Gates
4. Rosa Parks
5. Abraham Lincoln

What are your thoughts on this topic?

Leave a Reply

