Take it Easy With Your Novel

“second thoughts” by “twenty_questions” “Laura Billings” Licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 2.5 Generic (CC-BY-NC 2.5). Accessed 5 June 2014. http://www.flickr.com/photos/twenty_questions/2471532620/

“second thoughts” by “twenty_questions” “Laura Billings” Licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 2.5 Generic (CC-BY-NC 2.5). Accessed 5 June 2014. http://www.flickr.com/photos/twenty_questions/2471532620/

I read it all over the Internet; wait until you finish your novel until you start editing. But for some reason, all high and mighty, I thought I could get away with it. I couldn’t believe that after several long, strenuous months, I’d finally finished my first draft.

So I dived right in. I dedicated about 5 to 6 hours daily to make every page perfect. Then I would watch some YouTube videos, or read celebrity tweets, realize how much people my age have accomplished, and go back to my novel for another hour.

After a while, everything seemed to be wrong; the sentences were choppy, the characters were boring, the storyline was stupid… I couldn’t even type a decent-sounding paragraph. And there was a point where I wanted to burn my novel without mercy.

When I truly couldn’t take it any longer, I decided to take a break. I went to the beach, read some books, wrote a little… Then out of nowhere, I felt like I could go back to editing. I wasn’t as in love with it as I was in the beginning, but hey, at least I didn’t hate it.

Our society is constantly nudging us to achieve success, and that’s fine, but it’s like we’re nothing without it. What’s important is that we continue honing our skills and chasing our dreams one day at a time. Enjoy the freedom. You’re an artist for crying out loud! Just make sure to take it easy. Trust me, your novel will thank you for it.

Leave a Reply

